[Monett Times] Overcast ~ 75°F  
High: 82°F ~ Low: 63°F
Thursday, May 26, 2016

Livestock show winners announced

Monday, June 28, 2010

The 2010 Monett Junior Livestock Show provided an opportunity for young people from Lamar to Pleasant Hope to hone their skills exhibiting livestock. Attracting around 80 exhibitors and 200 animals, the event drew larger numbers than in recent years.

The show was in its third location in four years, moving for the first time to Monett's South Park, south of the soccer fields. The combination worked well for organizers from the Monett Chamber of Commerce and for exhibitors.

"We are very pleased with the level of participation by our local youth and the quality of the animals shown," said David Young, event chairman. "I am very thankful for all of the sponsors and the many volunteers that made the Monett Junior Livestock Show a success."

The show was set up with animals in two large tents provided by Weiser Tent, one where the sheep, goats and swine were shown and a second to house the cattle. An arena was fenced in where the pole yard had been located.

According to Julie Vaughn, one of the show's coordinators, the arrangement was easier for moving animals around and provided convenient parking. City crews brought in bleachers for audience seating as well as picnic tables that were placed in shaded areas. Concessions were offered in the building used for soccer events and water was available in abundance for the animals.

"It was really nice," Vaughn said. "We want to give a big thanks to the city crew. If we needed anything, they brought it."

University of Missouri Extension Service livestock specialist Eldon Cole served as master of ceremonies. Judges were Cody Washam for the beef show; Jennifer Mane for the dairy competition; Tina Pankratz for the goat show; and Tyler Dewey for the swine show.

The chamber awarded $1,581 in ribbons. Only one ribbon was red and the rest were blue. Showmanship winners received a bucket of special prizes.

Showmanship awards

Dairy: Shania Hogan, Pierce City, senior; Trenton Rader, junior; Keller Snodgrass, peewee.

Beef: Julie Choate, Pleasant Hope, senior; Bailey McAlister, Neosho, junior.

Swine: Asa Dill, Morrisville, senior; Jade Presley, Morrisville, junior.

Sheep: Stephanie Morgan, Lamar, senior; Matthew Middleton, Mt. Vernon, junior.

Goats: Kaitlyn Lawrence, Mt. Vernon, senior; Tony Morgan, Lamar, junior.

Beef cattle

Angus: Sara Boursheski, Pierce City, grand champion bull and heifer; Drew Boursheski, Pierce City, reserve champion bull and heifer.

Brangus: Colleen Leech, grand champion bull and reserve champion heifer; Josie Vaughn, Monett, grand champion heifer.

Charolais: Eli Meyer, Sarcoxie, grand champion bull and reserve champion heifer; Matthew Meyer, Sarcoxie, reserve champion bull; Callie Keaton, Anderson, grand champion heifer.

AOB: Bailey McAlister, Neosho, grand champion; Coby McAlister, reserve champion.

Dexter: Jacob DeLaSalle, Mt. Vernon, grand champion bull and reserve champion heifer; Jordan DeLaSalle, Mt. Vernon, grand champion heifer, reserve champion bull.

Hereford: Jonathan Bellis, Aurora, grand champion bull, reserve champion heifer; Julie Choate, Pleasant Hope, reserve champion bull; Jared Snider, Aurora, grand champion heifer.

Maine Anjou: Hannah Sherman, Anderson, grand champion heifer; Morgan Massey, Neosho, reserve champion heifer.

Simmental: Ashley Bailey, Mt. Vernon, grand champion bull and heifer; Bailey McAlister, reserve champion heifer.

Limousin: Tyler Jones, Carthage, grand champion bull and reserve champion heifer; Cody Jones, Carthage, grand champion heifer.

Market steer: Bradley Morgan, Lamar, grand champion; Matthew Morgan, Lamar, reserve champion.

Dairy cattle

Brown Swiss: Shania Hogan, Wentworth, grand champion.

Holstein: Faith Schmidt, Monett, grand and senior champions; Manuel Bedoya, Mt. Vernon, reserve and junior champions.

Guernsey: Stephanie Kaiser, Monett, grand and senior champions; Faith Schmidt, Monett, reserve champion.

Jersey: Trenton Rader, grand champion; John Dighero, Aurora, reserve champion.


Overall: Tammy Jo Stewart, Cassville, grand champion; Sarah Allen, Cassville, senior champion.

Nigerian dwarf: Sarah Allen, Cassville, grand champion; Braiden Stewart, Cassville, reserve champion.

La Mancha: Kirstyn Harris, Wheaton, grand champion; Clifford Stewart, Cassville, reserve champion.

Meat class: Kaitlyn Lawrence, Mt. Vernon, grand champion; Curtis Williamson, Cassville, reserve champion.

Mixed breed meat class: Halle Roper, Asbury, grand champion.

Oberhasli: Sarah Allen, Cassville, grand and reserve champions.

Nubian: Sarah Allen, Cassville, grand champion.

Recorded grade: Sarah Allen, Cassville, grand champion.

Toggenburg: Tammy Jo Stewart, Cassville, senior and junior champions.

Boer: Kaitlyn Lawrence, Mt. Vernon, grand champion buck; Savannah Williamson, Cassville, grand champion doe.


Suffolk: Matthew Meyer, Sarcoxie, grand champion; Eli Meyer, Sarcoxie, reserve champion.

Market lamb: Stephanie Morgan, Lamar, grand champion; Eli Meyer, Sarcoxie, reserve champion.

Crossbred: Craig Middleton, Mt. Vernon, grand champion; Stephanie Morgan, Lamar, reserve champion.


Duroc: Asa Dill, Morrisville, grand champion gilt and boer.

Hampshire: Dakota Lawson, grand champion.

Market hog: Brandon Kleiboeker, Monett, grand champion.

Spotted gilt: Jade Presley, Morrisville, grand champion.

Photos of many of the livestock show winners will be published in future issues of The Monett Times.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.