[Monett Times] Overcast ~ 64°F  
High: 73°F ~ Low: 47°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

Speedway busy on June 20

Wednesday, June 23, 2010

Racers kept the track busy at Monett Speedway on Sunday for the latest round of races.

In the rookie races, Clayton Powell won both the warm-up heat and the feature race. Jesse James, Janette Murphy and Megan Graber won second, third and fourth in both the heat and the feature race. Lenny Coats rallied in the feature to finish fifth, advancing one place from the heat.

In the bomber race, Rusty Forrest advanced from third place in the heat to win the feature race. Willie Oxendine took second in both the heat and the feature. Bob Maggard improved a slot to take third in the feature, as did Dale Senters who took fourth. Garrett Essary finished fifth in the feature.

In the Pro-4's, Theresa Widener came from the middle of the field to capture the feature race, Darrin Widener dropped back to second in the feature, just ahead of Bob Widener. Don Lacy gained a spot to finish fourth in the feature. Dusty Schmidt took fifth place.

In the B-Modifieds feature race, Steve Muilenburg hung on to the top spot he claimed in the first heat to win the feature race. Eric Tenderholt kept the second place position in both the feature and the second heat. John Yeoman took third in both the feature and in his heat. Matt Thompson took fourth in the feature, and Billy Dalton took fifth.

The crowded field for the A-Modifieds race put Johnny Bone Jr. to the test. Bone took first in his heat and in the feature race. Erik Maggard, who finished right behind Bone in the first heat, held that spot to take second in the feature. Jackie Dalton won a heat and claimed third in the feature. Taking fourth and fifth in the feature were Jody Tillman and Steve Muilenburg.

The Late Models race also warranted two heats, leading up to the feature race that ended the night. Justin Wells bested his second place finish in the preliminary heat to win the feature. Rex Merritt took second in both a heat and the feature. Larry Jones was third in his heat and in the feature. Dwight Neihoff was fourth in his heat and in the feature. Darrell Mooneyham had a fifth place finish in the feature.

Races in the same divisions will be held again on Sunday. Hot laps are at 7 p.m., and races begin at 7:30 p.m.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.