[Monett Times] Mostly Cloudy and Windy ~ 63°F  
High: 83°F ~ Low: 64°F
Wednesday, May 25, 2016

Cub players earn more post-season honors

Thursday, June 10, 2010

Monett Cubs centerfielder Spenser Witt and catcher Jake Smith were named to the Class 3, District 11 All-District first team. Both players were also named to the All-Big 8 Conference first team.

Witt, a senior, won the team's Mr. Cub Award and was also named Most Valuable Player. He hit .456, scored 35 runs and had no errors again this season. He set a season record for getting on base with balls, at 22.

Smith, a junior, set a team record with 39 RBI. His batting average of .514 and four home runs made him the Cubs' Offensive Player of the Year.

Earning second team All-District honors are juniors Marcus Enloe at third base, Andy Hagedorn in the outfield and Marcus McCaffrey on the mound.

McCaffrey was joined by junior utilityman Jesse Bremer on the All-Conference second team. Bremer also was an honorable mention conference pitcher. Enloe and Hagedorn also received honorable mentions from the Big 8.

McCaffrey had a pitching record of 4-2, pitching 44 innings. Enloe averaged .378, drove in 29 runs and hit four home runs. Hagedorn hit .362 with 22 hits and RBI. Bremer, who pitched and played in the outfield and at first base, went 4-1 on the mound while getting 20 hits at the plate.

Hagedorn was joined by left fielder Doug Aldridge as the Cubs' Most Improved players.

Junior Colten Phillips was named the Cubs' Defensive Player of the Year, while freshman second baseman Nicky Roberts was Rookie of the Year.

All-District list

The complete Class 3, District 11 All-District team is provided below.

First team: Chris Jones, senior first baseman, Reeds Spring; Brendan Shaughnessy, senior first baseman, Springfield Catholic; Weston Welch, senior second baseman, Bolivar; Ricky Vanderpool, senior short stop, Cassville; Larry Skeen, senior third baseman, Forsyth; Jake Smith, junior catcher, Monett; John Cavness, sophomore utility player, Cassville; Spenser Witt, senior outfielder, Monett; Trevor Tanner, senior outfielder, Cassville; Calvin Roebuck, junior outfielder, Springfield Catholic; Travis Northern, senior pitcher, Cassville; and Gage Jacobs, junior pitcher, Bolivar.

Second team: Scott Chesbro, junior second baseman, Springfield Catholic; Jake Woody, senior shortstop, Forsyth; Marcus Enloe, junior third baseman, Monett; Garrett Ormsby, senior catcher, Aurora; Dustin Hedrick, senior utility player, Aurora; Tyler Welch, senior outfielder, Bolivar; Andy Hagedorn, junior outfielder, Monett; Travis Northern, senior outfielder, Cassville; Wes DeWilde, senior outfielder, Reeds Spring; Hunter Johnson, junior outfielder, Springfield Catholic; Marcus McCaffery, junior pitcher, Monett; and Seth Clarkson, senior pitcher, Forsyth.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.