[Monett Times] Partly Cloudy ~ 50°F  
High: 65°F ~ Low: 43°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

FBLA students qualify for nationals

Thursday, May 13, 2010

A record number of Monett Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) members qualified for nationals at the 2010 Missouri FBLA Leadership Conference held on April 18, 19 and 20 in Columbia.

Anna Arnaud, Garrett Booher, Brit Isbell, Hayley LaGarce, Brianna Petersen and Jake Smith all qualified for the National Leadership Conference in Nashville, Tenn., which will take place July 14 through July 17. The students made it to nationals by finishing either first or second in the state competition.

Monett FBLA advisors Marlena Heimer and Lee Ann Morris said six students is the most the chapter has ever qualified for national competition.

Delegates representing the Monett chapter in the state competitive leadership awards program were: Kennon Cox, Accounting II; Anna Arnaud, Business Communication, second place; Sarah Edwards and Charity Evans, Business Financial Plan, 10th place; Jacob Fair, Business Math; Gaby Rodriguez and Vanessa Schoon, Community Service Project; Monica Villa, Computer Applications, 10th place.

Garrett Booher, Computer Problem Solving and Network Design, second place; Brit Isbell, Personal Finance, second Place, and Public Speaking II, second place; Cassidy Franke, FBLA Principles and Procedures, 10th place; Hayley LaGarce, Business Ethics, second place; Daniel Matney, Technology Concepts and Cyber Security. Jake Smith, Networking Concepts, 10th place, and Network Design, second place), Brianna Petersen, Business Ethics, second place, and Public Speaking I; Reece Johnson, Impromptu Speaking; Hunter Glouse, Business Math; Al Dohmen, Computer Problem Solving; Ryan Sitton, Marketing.

Zach Swearingen, FBLA Principles and Procedures, ninth place; Liz Sutton, Personal Finance, fifth place; Jerica Wiseman and Jared Childress, Local Chapter Annual Business Report; and Carlin Ballay, Brooke Beckwith, Beau Bounous and Geoff Bowsher, voting delegates.

In addition, Brit Isbell was elected to serve as Missouri state chapter vice president for the 2010-11 school year. Heimer and Morris, as the local chapter advisers, accompanied the students to the conference.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.