[Monett Times] Drizzle ~ 72°F  
Flash Flood Warning
Tuesday, July 7, 2015

Nurse of the Year honors are announced at Cox Monett

Monday, May 10, 2010

Denise Staponski, RN in the home health department, who is pictured at right on the left, was recognized as Nurse of the Year at Cox Monett Hospital during a recent banquet of the nursing staff. She received her award from Sandy Jastal, RN, chief nursing officer. [Times Photo by Lisa Craft]
Cox Monett Hospital hosted its second annual Nurses's Day awards banquet on May 6 to honor its nursing staff.

The theme for Nurses Week was "The Lady with the Lamp" focusing on the 100th anniversary of the death of Florence Nightingale. Chief Nursing Officer Sandy Jastal gave a presentation on Nightingale, who died on Aug. 13, 1910. She shared that Nightingale laid the foundation for modern professional nursing.

Jastal said that Nightingale set an example of compassion, commitment to patient care and diligent and thoughtful hospital administration. Nightingale's words to success were, "I attribute my success to this - I never gave or took any excuse."

Each nurse attending the banquet received a bag containing the book, "The Florence Prescription." Jastal presented a challenge to read the book, take the pledge, and make the commitment.

Jastal announced the organization of a new Nursing Action Council (NAC). The purpose of the council is to promote professionalism in the practice of nursing at Cox Monett Hospital. Nurses who will serve on the council include: Karen Haskins, Nancy Hinkle, Lori Vanderhoof, Rhonda Toler, Wilma Kisling and Missy Reavis.

The highlight of the banquet was the presentation of the Nurse of the Year Award and eight Partners Behavior Standard Awards.

Each member of the Cox Monett Hospital nursing staff was given a ballot to fill out for the person they believed best represented each one of the hospital's values, which include positive attitude, accountable, responsive, teamwork, no excuses, exemplary, responsibility and service.

The nurses with the most votes for each value received a certificate and a basket or wagon full of prizes. The nurse who received the most overall votes in all categories was named Nurse of the Year.

Denise Staponski, RN, serving in home health, won Nurse of the Year honors for her hard work and dedication. She received a framed certificate of award and a 32-inch flat screen TV, which was purchased with the assistance of the Cox Monett Physicians.

Individual value award winners were: positive attitude, Missy Reavis, RN, medical surgical unit; accountable, Rhonda Toler, RN, visiting patient center; responsive, Melissa Gertiser, RN, house supervisor; teamwork, Kathleen Yarco, RN, emergency department; no excuses, Mary Jones, RN, surgery; exemplary, Heidi Clark, RN, house supervisor; responsibility Denise Staponski, RN, home health; and service, Judy Flehmer, RN, surgery.

At the close of the banquet, a drawing was held for the table decorations of potted geraniums.

Cox Monett Hospital's nurses recognition events were organized by the hospital's nurse managers who include: Beverly Morris, Patti Nash, Jastal, Danna Lake, Lisa McDunner and Kay Batson.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2015 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.