[Monett Times] Fair ~ 79°F  
High: 92°F ~ Low: 66°F
Thursday, July 24, 2014

Monett man faces child porn charges

Thursday, April 22, 2010

Lavender and yellow have arrived to add color to green pastures around the bi-county area. Red buds are in full bloom and can be viewed throughout Monett. Captured this week, this scene is looking south toward Wheaton. [Times Photo by R.K. Wilson]
A Monett man faces child pornography charges as a result of an investigation spearheaded by the Southwest Missouri Cyber Crimes Task Force.

Russell L. Motes, 38, has been charged in Barry County with promoting child pornography in the first degree and possession of child pornography.

The case against Motes was initiated and investigated by Barry County Sheriffs Detective Brian Martin and Cassville Police Detective James Smith, who are also members of the Southwest Missouri Cyber Crimes Task Force. Members of the Monett Police Department also assisted with the case.

Officers were able to obtain a state search warrant, which was executed at the Motes residence in Monett. During the search, a collection of child pornography was located on Motes' computer, which was seized.

In a separate case, James E. Troupe, 51, of Humansville, has been charged in Barry County with promoting child pornography in the first degree. Charges of possession of child pornography were also filed against Troupe in Polk County.

A search warrant was executed at the Troupe residence on April 13 by Cyber Crime Task Force officers and federal agents with the U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement. A collection of child pornography was discovered on Troupe's computer.

This case was also initiated and investigated by Detective Smith and Detective Martin.

"We are proud that Detective Smith and Barry County Sheriff's Department Detective Martin are part of a team protecting our children from predators on a daily basis," said Cassville Police Chief Dana Kammerlohr.

The Southwest Missouri Cyber Crimes Task Force is hosted by the Joplin Police Department and has officers assigned from Barry, Jasper, McDonald, Newton, Dade, Barton and Vernon county sheriffs departments and the Cassville, Joplin and Nevada police departments.

The Task Force is funded by a Missouri Department of Public Safety grant.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration. If you already have an account on this site, enter your username and password below. Otherwise, click here to register.


Password:  (Forgot your password?)

Your comments:
Please be respectful of others and try to stay on topic.

© 2014 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.