[Monett Times] Fair ~ 64°F  
High: 67°F ~ Low: 58°F
Thursday, Apr. 28, 2016

Write-in votes determine several bi-county races

Thursday, April 8, 2010

Tabulation of write-in votes on the Tuesday election filled several vacancies and overturned at least two otherwise uncontested candidates.

Barry County

Write-ins had the strongest impact in Washburn city races. In the East Ward alderman's race, Mary Roller appeared bound to succeed Sherry Cox. Voters apparently had other ideas. Roller had 13 votes but Cox received 14 write-in votes.

The same thing happened in the West Ward. Incumbent Gerald Hinde did not refile but received 25 write-in votes, tying official candidate Ray Hayworth. According to County Clerk Gary Youngblood, the two candidates will have to resolve who will serve.

In the Butterfield Fire District, Jason Mackey received two votes for the open board position. Other votes were cast for board members already serving.

In the Corsicana Special Road District, the only two write-in votes cast went to Lance Keeler.

Lawrence County

In Freistatt, Ryan Buchmueller is the winner in the write-in contest for the village Board of Trustees vacancy. Buchmueller received 11 votes and has agreed to serve, reported Village Clerk Deborah Schoen. Receiving two votes each were Bob Senninger, former board member Joyce Ness and Robert Brandt. Three people got one vote each.

In the Freistatt Special Road District, Merlin Bracht received 4 votes and Mark Fellwock got 3. Four people received 2 votes each and four more each had 1.

In Stotts City, Joanne Caddick received eight write-in votes to lead the field for mayor. Trish Gatewood had 6, Randy Hill had 5, Carl Hobbs had 2 and Kenneth Shepard had 1.

In the South Ward, Eric Porter is the apparent winner of the alderman's seat with 5 votes. Incumbent Ken Shepard and Cherry Gatewood each had 2, and Cathy Nichols had 1.

In Marionville, there is an apparent upset in the uncontested Ward Three alderman's race. Five-term incumbent Kay Leffingwell had 76 votes and has apparently been beaten by Gina Valente, who received 80 write-in votes.

In Pierce City, Larry Carver received the only write-in vote cast for the Ward Four alderman's vacancy. According to City Clerk Julie Johnson, Carver has been out of town and has not been available to respond to the invitation to serve.

An organized write-in effort generated a significant write-in candidate for the Pierce City R-6 School Board. Richard Timbrook got 191 write-in votes (159 Lawrence County, 11 Barry, 21 Newton) to finish in fourth place.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.