[Monett Times] Mostly Cloudy and Windy ~ 63°F  
High: 83°F ~ Low: 64°F
Wednesday, May 25, 2016

School races provide few upsets

Wednesday, April 7, 2010

Incumbents turned out to have an edge in bi-county elections for school board seats yesterday.

Barry County

Monett R-1: One-term incumbent Marty Scabarzoi led the five-person field in winning a second term with 555 votes (302 Barry County, 253 Lawrence). Doug Childress, making his second consecutive bid for office, was successful in earning 513 votes (289 Barry, 224 Lawrence).

Finishing out of the running were first-time candidates Darren Bass with 426 (255 Barry, 171 Lawrence), Ken Gaspar with 388 (214 Barry, 174 Lawrence), and Mark Jackson with 190 (98 Barry, 92 Lawrence).

Purdy R-2: Purdy School Board patrons supported incumbent Tracy Tate over challengers Lenni Wood, Angela Moore, David Young and Mike Roller. Voters also elected Ed Mareth to a seat on the school board. Mareth received the most votes with 158. He was followed by Tate, who received 139. Roller earned 77 votes, Young received 62 votes, Wood tallied 24 votes and Moore received 18 votes.

Exeter R-6: Exeter patrons re-elected incumbents Melvin Lacey and Eric O'Neill over challengers Tracie Cole and Lisa Newman. Lacey received the most votes with 107. He was followed by O'Neill, who received 95 votes. Cole who received 36 votes, and Newman who received 40 votes.

Southwest R-5: The Southwest R-V School Board also awarded its incumbent candidates two more years on the board. Bobby Stephens won 266 votes (249 Barry, 17 McDonald County), and Robert Shockley earned 211 votes (193 Barry, 18 McDonald). Challenger Angie Corn received 149 votes (145 Barry, 4 McDonald), which was not enough to secure a seat on the board.

Lawrence County

Pierce City R-6: The incumbents had smooth sailing to re-election in Pierce City. One-term incumbent Kent Boursheski was the top vote getter with 688 (490 Lawrence, 84 Barry, 114 Newton), followed by Kenny O'Hara, who had 589 votes (407 Lawrence, 75 Barry, 107 Newton).

Out of the running was three-time candidate Hollis Webb with 330 votes (249 Lawrence, 24 Barry, 57 Newton).

Aurora R-8: Incumbents coasted to re-election in Aurora. Carolyn Swartz led the field with 300 votes (265 Lawrence, 35 Barry), while Charles Folz had 294 (261 Lawrence, 33 Barry). Both won fourth terms.

First-time candidate Melanie Mayberry came in a respectable third but out of the running with 252 votes (232 Lawrence, 20 Barry). Steve Bryan had 138 votes (128 Lawrence, 10 Barry).

Marionville R-9: The race was relatively tight for one of the two open Marionville school board seats. First-time candidate Daniel Weathermon led with 290 (279 Lawrence, 11 Stone). Marilyn (Tappana) McCrosky won her seventh term with 255 (246 Lawrence, 9 Stone) just ahead of Brian Davis with 234 (227 Lawrence, 7 Stone).

Also out of the running were Matt Schmidt with 122 and Mark Neveln with 46. Again this year, no Christian County votes were cast.

Miller R-2: The Miller school race became an exception where incumbency turned out to be a disadvanage. A close vote also determined the second winner in what turned into a six-person race. First-time candidate Barbara Sparks led the field with 227 votes. Taking the second slot was Schyrlet Cameron with 202 votes.

Just out of the running were Chi-Chi Stelle with 198, incumbent David Rose with 188, Todd Cook with 113 and former board member Loretta Thomas with 67.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.