[Monett Times] Overcast ~ 72°F  
High: 84°F ~ Low: 64°F
Thursday, May 26, 2016

Incumbents run strong in municipal contests

Wednesday, April 7, 2010

City races offered some surprises, especially in Lawrence County, in yesterday's municipal elections.

Barry County

Purdy: Voters in Purdy re-elected Ward One Alderman Rex Coffey and Ward Two Alderman Kenneth Real. Coffey had 34 votes and Real received 23, sending both back into office for their second full terms.

Cassville: Cassville City Council South Ward Alderman Terry Heinz narrowly defeated challenger Greg Allen. Heinz received 52 votes to win a second term, compared to Allen's 45 votes. Cassville voters also cast 69 votes for Darrell Ledenham, who was running unopposed for a north ward alderman seat.

Butterfield: Butterfield voters re-elected its current council members. Mayor Tony Cope got 13 votes. Carrol Hayes returned as east ward alderman with nine votes, and Frances Hobbs, west ward alderman, is back in office with five votes. All three have held the same posts since elections as a city began in 2006.

Wheaton: Even though only 17 voters turned out for elections held in Wheaton, voters unanimously re-elected current council members Donnie Pierpont, east ward alderman, and Stacy Beck, west ward alderman. Pierpont had seven votes to keep the seat he first ran for in 2008. Beck had 10 votes to keep the seat to which she was appointed in 2009.

Seligman: Jerry Montgomery, as the only mayoral candidate, had 50 votes to keep the job to which he was appointed in 2009. Michael Steen, who was appointed to fill Montgomery's alderman's position, had 31 votes to keep the East Ward seat. Latisha Pippin was returned to the West Ward she gained by appointment in 2009 with 20 votes.

Washburn: Although Washburn voters were presented with uncontested races for two open council seats, incumbents Sherry Cox and Ray Hayworth, who did not file for re-election, received several write-in votes.

Voters elected Sherry Cox over Mary Roller for an open east ward alderman seat. Cox received 14 write-in votes, and Roller received 13 votes. Gerald Hinde received 25 votes, and Ray Hayworth received 25 write-in votes for an open west ward alderman seat.

Lawrence County

Pierce City: Five-term alderman Allen Stockton became the new mayor of Pierce City with 279 votes. There were 13 write-in votes for other candidates.

John Archer, who has completed two consecutive terms representing Ward One, returned to office with 76 votes. Scott Wahl won a second term from Ward Two with 92 votes. Larry Bartkoski won a second term from Ward Three with 62 votes.

There were five write-in votes for the vacancy of Ward Four alderman.

Verona: First-time candidate George Strawn was the top vote getter in claiming one of the two at-large city council seats in Verona with 31 votes.

Five-term incumbent Lloyd Airrington took the other with 30 votes. Out of the running was first-time candidate Gary Welters with 22 votes.

Freistatt: James M. Ortwein was returned to the Freistatt Village Board with 20 votes, a seat he has held since 2005. The second seat will be determined from the field of 19 write-in votes cast.

Stotts City: The job of mayor in Stotts City will be filled from the field of 22 write-in votes cast yesterday. Ten write-in votes were cast to fill the open seat in the South Ward.

Two-term incumbent Carl Hobbs was returned to office in the North Ward with 15 votes.

Mt. Vernon: In one of the closes races in yesterday's vote, Lowell Phillips received 34 votes to top fellow first-time candidate Eric Snow's 31 votes to claim the Ward One alderman's seat.

The Ward Four race turned into a walk-away for one-term incumbent Mike Tebow, who earned 43 votes. First-time candidate Charles Hunt had four votes and James Schmitt had one vote.

Mayor Dave Eden returned to office for a fourth term with 182 votes. Ward Three Alderman April Mieswinkel Canchola won her fourth term with 25 votes. Ward Two incumbent Carol Milsap returned to office with 47 votes.

Miller: A change will take place in the Miller City Council. First-time candidate Richard Turk led the five-candidate field receiving 110 votes. Fellow first-time candidate Dana Erickson claimed the second at-large seat with 98 voted.

Incumbent Avon Snyder, who has served since 1999, received 58 votes. First-time candidate Robert Jones had 29 votes, and Garry Baker, who has run in the last two elections for different posts, finished with 24 votes.

Dennis Harris, who won a one-year stint as mayor in 2009, got a two-year term with 136 votes.

Aurora: David Price easily held on to the city council seat he has had since 2009. Price had 277 votes to top Eddie Breeding, who ran for the third consecutive year, with 80 votes.

Marionville: Bob Duda Jr. bounced back from his 2008 loss in seeking an alderman's post to win as Marionville's mayor. Duda earned 286 votes to easily top former one-term mayor David Arnsmeyer's 122 votes.

Ward One incumbent Jim Dickenson hung onto his seat with 79 votes, beating three-term former mayor Doris Rapp, who received 50 votes. Three-term incumbent Max McBride had 88 votes to keep his Ward Two seat. Five-term incumbent Kay Leffingwell may be in jeopardy, receiving 76 votes while 86 write-in votes were cast against her.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.