[Monett Times] Overcast ~ 52°F  
High: 61°F ~ Low: 46°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

Over 100 inducted into National Technical Honor Society

Wednesday, March 24, 2010

Induction ceremonies for the National Technical Honor Society were held on Tuesday at the Southwest Area Career Center. A total of 102 students from Monett, Pierce City, Purdy, Verona, Billings, Crane, Miller, Aurora, Southwest, Mt. Vernon, Cassville, Wheaton and Marionville were inducted, including students from Berean Christian Academy and a home-schooled student. In thefront row, from left, are: Shelbi Shipman, Hannah Parnell, Brittney Litchhult, Karsyn Meeks, Kayla Maxey, Lyndsi Waltrip, Johanna Parra-Navarro, Alyssa Hermann, Aubrey LaGarce and Nicole Witt. Second row: Dalton Eutsler, Jacob Murphy, Jacob Smith, Jeremy Ray, Oscar Mondragon-Cucvas, Mark Mareth, Andy Williams, Alonzo Perez, Jacob F. Smith, Ryne Johnson and Christian Isbell. Third row: Ashley Barnes, Avery Bounous, Sarah Burnett, Alyssa Chastain, Christina Dowing, Garrett Ethridge, Krystal Evans, Harald Gabriel, Ashley Henry, Kirstie Ickes, Jacob Jenkins, Dayna Marcucci and Montana Marshall. Fourth row: Sabrina Moore, Britney Mulkey, Valorie Nowlin, Nikolas Pate, Shelbi Shipman, Morgan Sowell, Casey Stockton, Brandon Taylor, Maria Trujillo, Leah Wilson, Taylor Winn, Desiree Aceves, Angela Aga, Jesse Arndt, Dedre Beckett, Nicole Bitzer, Brook Bounous and Amber Brown. Fifth row: Katherine Campbell, Lizbeth DeLeon, Jacques DuPlessis, Garrett Dutton, Hannah Ennes, Christine Fillinger, Celeste Gonzalez, Rhiann Gregg, Sheyenne Gurnee, Amber Jones, Matt Lawson, Daniel Matney, Austin McLean, Abraham Mejia, Matt Moennig, Carter Morris, Katherine Motes, Katie Mulford, Iliana Rangel and Carrie Robbins. Sixth row: Maria Rueda, Anahi Salas, Kenneth Saunders, Stephanie Sizemore, Ashley Speer, Amy Swan, Grant Tate, Kazong Thao, Katherine Toman, Mauricio Trujillo, Shanda Wegrzyn, Caleb Wells, Kimberly Wormington, Cindy Xiong, Kenny Yang, Linda Yang and Lynnsey Youngberg. Absent were Daniel Barrientos, Sandra Barrientos, Chris Coyle, Garrett Dustman, Shane George, Cody Jenkins, Garrett Jester, Kayla Lee, Brittany Miller, Austin Mooneyham, Taylor Petersen, Tiffany Testerman and Keshia Young. A story on the induction appears on page 5. [Times Photo by Murray Bishoff]
A record sized group of 102 students were inducted last week into the National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) chapter at the Southwest Area Career Center (SWACC). This is the fourth year for the program at SWACC. Inductions have grown from the initial group of 36 students.

Ceremonies were held in front of an audience of parents and well-wishers at the Career Center commons. Culinary arts teacher Vickie Fuller explained the purpose of the NTHS, and NTHS Advisor Karen Brosi explained the colors, emblems and insignia of the NTHS, along with its slogan, "Felicitas Menti Instructae Favet" (Success favors the prepared mind).

The 43 juniors and 58 seniors inducted had to achieve a grade point average of 3.0 in their course of study at SWACC as well as at their home high school. Those accepted had to be recommended by their SWACC teacher and the home high school principal. Good leadership and character are also considered in the selection.

New NTHS members are now eligible to apply for a $1,000 NTHS scholarship. Students who complete 20 hours of community service by April 15 can receive honor cords, which can be worn during graduation at their high schools.

Inductees lit a candle from the Candle of Knowledge as part of the induction process. Selected participants explained the standards of the NTHS, which include knowledge, skill, honesty, service, responsibility, scholarship, citizenship and leadership.

Certificates were presented to the inductees by Brosi, Fuller and SWACC Director Tyler Laney. Christian Isbell and Nichole Witt led the inductees in reading the NTHS pledge. Laney congratulated the students to conclude the program. A reception in honor of the inductees followed.

A color guard from the Junior ROTC program posted the colors.

Serving as officers in the NTHS this year are Tiffany Testerman and Garrett Dutton, co-presidents, and Shelbi Shipman and Kate Toman, co-secretaries.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.