[Monett Times] Fair ~ 52°F  
High: 67°F ~ Low: 49°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Hoopsters earn big honors

Thursday, March 18, 2010

The Monett Cubs landed two players on the All-Big 8 Conference team for 2010. Senior Kennon Cox was named to the second team, and senior Spenser Witt received honorable mention recognition.

Cox also earned a place on the All-District team for his performance this season. In Big 8 games, Cox averaged 17 points, four rebounds and two assists per game this season.

Witt was also a strong presence on the floor for the Cubs, averaging 6 points and five assists per Big 8 game.

Monett ended the 2009-10 season with a 4-3 conference mark, which tied them for third with Aurora.

The complete list of All-Big 8 Conference selections are highlighted below.

First team: senior Zack Kleine, Mt. Vernon; senior Toby Roelfsema, Seneca; senior Jansen Adams, Carl Junction; senior Stryker Harris, Seneca; and senior Waylon Doty, Aurora.

Second team: senior Kennon Cox, Monett; senior Nick Chasten, Seneca; senior Jackson Tettenhorst, Mt. Vernon; junior Clint Broyles, East Newton; junior Axl Larson, Cassville; and senior Jake Stevenson, Carl Junction.

Honorable mention: senior Ross Means, Lamar; senior Spenser Witt, Monett; junior Brett Black, East Newton; and sophomore Aaron Cox, Aurora.

Player of the Year was Roelfsema, and Coach of the Year was Will King, of Seneca.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.