[Monett Times] Light Rain ~ 52°F  
High: 67°F ~ Low: 49°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

R-1 honored for performance

Friday, February 26, 2010

The Monett School District delegation at the banquet for recipients of "accreditation with distinction" honors posed above with their official resolution. In the front row, from left, are: Annette Cozort, Central Park Elementary principal; Julie Germann, assistant superintendent; Sarah Garner, Monett Elementary School assistant principal; Dr. Tony Rickard, board member; Jeff Wilcox, high school assistant principal; and Dr. John Jungmann, superintendent. Back row: Susie Gasser, Monett Elementary School principal; Dr. Jay Apostol, Monett Middle School principal; board members Mark Coatney, David Beckett and Jerry Roberts; and Elaine O'Neal, director of special services.
Representatives from the Monett R-1 School District were recognized in Springfield for receiving "accredited with distinction" status on the Annual Performance Report (APR) issued by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE).

The Monett R-1 District earned the honor by meeting 14 of 14 state accreditation standards for the 2009-10 school year.

A total of 62 districts were slated for recognition at the Clarion Hotel. The event was hosted by the Southwest Regional Professional Development Center, a component of DESE. Sixteen of the districts will receive their recognition at a ceremony in Joplin, where a new Regional Professional Development Center has been established.

The theme for the awards evening was "A Peacock in the Land of Penguins," based on the popular book by B. J. Gallagher Hateley and Warren H. Schmidt. Each district received a copy of the book and had a peacock feather at their table.

David Beckett, president of the Monett Board of Education, accepted the recognition for the district. A delegation of administrators and board members received the formal citation.

The framed resolution detailing the honor has been placed in the board room of the district administrative office. Superintendent Dr. John Jungmann said the district has earned the honor in four of the nine years it has been given.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.