[Monett Times] Fair ~ 54°F  
High: 78°F ~ Low: 55°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Road district elections to be very scarce

Friday, February 5, 2010

With the closing of filings for the April 6 election, only a few races developed for the job of road district commissioner in the Monett area.

The Monett Special Road District is due to fill one of its Barry County seats this year. Incumbent Bruce Washeck was the only person to file, making an election unnecessary.

An election will be held in the Pleasant Ridge district. Incumbent Neva (Crouch) Welters filed for re-election and will be challenged by David Sperandio.

There will be a change in the Capps Creek district. Mike Washick was the only candidate to file and will take the seat held by incumbent Anthony Presley.

No changes will occur in the Purdy and Kings Prairie districts. Carl Lee Moore, the incumbent, was the only person to file in Purdy. Incumbent Tom Hutchens was the only candidate to file in Kings Prairie.

Corsicana was the only district in Barry County where no candidates filed. That three-year seat will be filled by a write-in election.

In Lawrence County, the Freistatt Special Road District also had no filings. Wilfred Hesemann was the incumbent. The commissioner's seat will be open to a write-in vote.

Jeff Kaal was the only person to file in the Verona district. Incumbent Jack Miller did not refile.

In the Pierce Special Road, incumbent Don Gripka filed for another term, making a vote unnecessary.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.