[Monett Times] Fair ~ 50°F  
High: 78°F ~ Low: 59°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Royalty headlines Rose week

Monday, January 25, 2010

The 2010 Monett High School Rose Queen Hayley LaGarce and her court will reign over this week's basketball homecoming celebration. Pictured in the front row, from left, are: senior attendant Ana Rueda; and Queen Hayley LaGarce. Second row: sophomore attendant Maddie Schmidt; junior attendant Dedre Beckett; senior attendant Chelsey Abramovitz; and freshman attendant Stephanie Schumacher. [Photo by Chuck Nickle Photography]
Today marks the start of Monett High School's basketball homecoming week that will culminate with the traditional Rose coronation, assembly and basketball game on Friday night.

The celebration of the annual Rose festival in the form of a special pep assembly will take place at 2:30 p.m. on Friday in the high school gym.

In addition, a colorful coronation ceremony for 2010 Rose Queen Hayley LaGarce and her court will highlight the festivities Friday night at the basketball game between the Monett Cubs and the Lamar Tigers.

Miss LaGarce will be crowned during the assembly on Friday afternoon. Full coronation and presentation of royalty gifts will be held between the junior varsity and varsity basketball games in the gym Friday night.

The traditional Rose Dance, sponsored by the MHS Student Senate, will be held after the varsity basketball game until midnight in the mezzanine at the gym.

"Midnight Masquerade" will be the theme for the celebration and dance. The gym will be decorated by members of the Student Senate who are guided by sponsor Pam Schmidt.

Advance tickets for the dance will cost $5 for singles and $9 per couple. At the door the cost will be $6 for singles and $10 for couple.

Rose royalty

The 2010 Rose Queen, Hayley LaGarce, is the daughter of Charles and Libby LaGarce. She will be escorted by Spenser Witt and Kennon Cox.

She is a member of speech and debate and is president of that organization, Future Business Leaders of America and Link Crew and is student body vice president.

Miss LaGarce said she enjoys debate, writing, spending time with family and friends, laughing and hanging out with her boyfriend, Brit.

Ana Rueda, daughter of Porfirio and Eustolia Rueda, is senior maid of honor. She will be escorted by Josh Shaner and Trenton Pierce.

Miss Rueda is a member of FBLA, is historian of the Monett Key Cub and is yearbook editor.

She said she enjoys spending time with family, talking on the phone, drawing and hanging out with friends.

Chelsea Abramovitz, daughter of Dana Abramovitz and Chip Abramovitz, is senior maid of honor. She will be escorted by Devon Steward and Christian Wooldridge.

Miss Abramovitz is a member of FBLA and National Honor Society.

She said she enjoys spending time with her friends, family and boyfriend, Jackson, and shopping with her sister.

Junior attendant is Dedre Beckett, daughter of David and Donna Beckett. She will be escorted by Tyler Green and Chandler Wammack.

Miss Beckett is a member of the FBLA, Link Crew, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, M Club, Youth Empowerment Project and the Lady Cubs basketball team.

She said she enjoys cooking and baking cheesecakes, working at Mocha Jo's, sledding and watching Missouri State basketball games.

Sophomore attendant is Maddie Schmidt, daughter of Steve and Pam Schmidt. She will be escorted by Jarred Witt.

She is a member of YEP, FBLA, STUCO, Pizzazz Poms dance team and the volleyball team.

She said she enjoys spending time with friends and family.

Freshman attendant is Stephanie Schumacher, daughter of Pam and Tom Schumacher. She will be escorted by Kyle Woods.

She is a member of NSBC sticks drama team, the Chanters, Art Club, STUCO, FCA, drama horseback riding and Monett Waterthrashers.

She enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking pictures.

Cheerleaders, who will perform during the assembly and participate in the Rose ceremony, and their escorts are: Sara Hammond, Jacob Fair; Sara Edwards, Aaron Hall; Kayla Vesco, Aaron Hall; Alyssa Hermann,

Tyler Webb; Kaitlyn Schumacher, Kole Eden; Aubrey LaGarce, Tyler Bass; Sami Nielsen, Zach Swearingen; Morgan Huntress, Caleb Blue; Holly Abramovitz, Jeremiah Paszek; Jordan Hancock, Aaron Patton; Jordan VanLue, River Ginther; and Allie Barton, Andrew Gilliam.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.