[Monett Times] Overcast ~ 75°F  
High: 82°F ~ Low: 63°F
Thursday, May 26, 2016

Vacancy remains as filing winds down

Thursday, January 14, 2010

With one week to go before the closing of filings for the April 6 election, few candidates have added their names for consideration following the first week of filings last month.

In the Monett R-1 School District, no candidates have filed since the first week. One-term incumbent Marty Scabarozi is running with second-time candidate Doug Childress and first-time candidates Darren Bass and Kenneth Gaspar for seats on the school board.

In the Purdy R-2 School District, first-time candidate Angela Moore has been the only person to file. Incumbents Kelly Hayes, who has served three terms, and Tracy Tate, who has served one term, have yet to file.

In the Pierce City R-6 School District, no candidates have filed since the first week. Two-term incumbent Kenny O'Hara, who lost last April, and one-term incumbent Kent Boursheski make up the field going into the last week. Richard Kutz, the other incumbent, has not yet filed.

In the Verona R-7 School District, both incumbents have now refiled. Running without opposition are David Doner, who has served two terms, and Dale Whitlock, who has served one term.

In municipal races, candidates have filed for only two of the five positions open in Pierce City. In addition to Ward One alderman John Archer, who filed on the first day, Scott Wahl has filed for a second term in Ward Two.

Larry Bartkoski is the two-term incumbent from Ward Three. Ward Four has been vacant since Willie Parks resigned. Mayor Carol Hirsch said she is not running again.

In Purdy, both incumbents have now filed for re-election for two-year terms. Rex Coffey, who has represented Ward One since 2008, filed by the end of the first week. Ken Real, who also won a one-year term last year after getting on the council by appointment, filed for re-election on Jan. 11.

In Verona, no candidates have filed since five-term incumbent Lloyd Airrington filed on the first day. Robert Baker, who is serving as the other at-large alderman, is the other incumbent.

In Freistatt, there have been no filings since James M. Ortwein, the current mayor, filed to run on the first day. Ortwein has served since 2005. Delpha Bowling, who has served since 2007, is the other incumbent and he has not refiled.

In the Barry-Lawrence Ambulance District, Daryl Fenski, the current board chairman, has filed to run. Fenski has represented the Pierce City area in District Five since 2001. The seat for District Two, representing the Purdy area, is also open. Mike Bennett, who was elected to a one-year term last year after being appointed to the post, is the other incumbent and she has not yet refiled for her seat.

Filings will close at 5 p.m. on Tuesday, Jan. 19, 2010. Candidates can place their names in consideration at city halls, with the school board secretaries or with the ambulance district office manager.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.