[Monett Times] Fair ~ 59°F  
High: 67°F ~ Low: 58°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Back In The Good Old Days

Friday, November 6, 2009


November 6, 1939

* G.E. Mendell, manager of the Railway Ice Company in Monett, has returned from Chicago, Illinois, where he attended the 22nd annual convention of the National Association of Ice Industries.

* H.A. Gardner, of Monett, was elected president of the board of directors of the Ozark Empire Fruit Growers Exchange.


November 6, 1949

* The Monett City Park and Casino are now ready for company after a two-month job of renovations of the building and clearing of brush and pruning of trees.

* Completion of the new M.E. Gillioz office building on Broadway in Monett has been announced.


November 6, 1959

* Members of the flute quartet at Monett High School are Donna Bradley, Cheryl Edwards, Connie Coleman and Mary Everett.

* Members of the Verona High School basketball team include Albert Farmer, J.D. Barry, William Weatherman, Ronnie Greenway and Rex King.


November 6, 1969

* Lana Long, of Cassville, and Carla Sartin, of Marionville, were named to receive expense paid trips to the National 4-H Congress in Chicago, Illinois.

* Dr. Norman Justus, superintendent, has announced a special program tomorrow to make the 10th anniversary of the Southwest Missouri Research Center near Mt. Vernon.


November 6, 1979

* Monett's Cubs remained in the thick of the race for the Big 12 Eastern Division football title by defeating Cassville last night, 13-10.

* Mrs. Colleen Witt, of Kansas City, visited her parents, Mr. and Mrs. Doyle McCubbin, in Monett yesterday.


November 6, 1989

* Lawrence County Clerk Bob Bartelsmeyer, of Aurora, has been elected president of the County Clerks Association of Missouri for 1989-90.

* Roxann Watkins was named the Woman of the Year at last night's annual Monett Business and Professional Women's Club VIP and Bosses Night Banquet.


November 6, 1999

* Southwest Area Career Center at Monett will host the annual Trade and Tech Day on Tuesday, according to Ted Dorton, career center director.

* Miller, East Newton, Lamar, Seneca, and Greenfield won district football titles in games played last night to qualify for post-season play.

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.