[Monett Times] Partly Cloudy ~ 63°F  
High: 77°F ~ Low: 60°F
Wednesday, June 1, 2016

Nixa Sweeps Monett Cross Country Meet, Cubs Place Sixth

Wednesday, September 16, 2009

Nixa dominated the bigger schools yesterday at the annual Monett Cross Country Invitational. A total of 33 schools competed at the event held at Monett South Park.

In the 3A-4A 5,000-meter varsity race, Nixa swept the boys and girls divisions. The Nixa teams are coached by Lance Brumley, a Monett High School graduate.

With 46 points, Nixa took first place in the boys race. Monett was sixth with 121 points.

Placing for the Monett boys were: Micah Miller, seventh with a time of 18:29; Chris Renteria, 13th with a time of 18:36; Juan Renteria, 28th with a time of 19:11; Isaac Weber, 33rd with a time of 19:32; Bill Townsend, 40th with a time of 19:51; and Connor Kimzey, 49th with a time of 20:39.

Nixa also won the varsity 3A-4A girls race with 26 points. Monett and Cassville, with only one girl participating, did not have team scores.

Running for Monett was Lauren Sebastian. She was 44th with a time of 26:12. Racing for Cassville was Jessica Barrientos. She was seventh with a time of 22:07.

In Class 1A-2A, Springfield Catholic took first place in the girls varsity race with 25 points.

Purdy had two runners and did not have a team score. Racing for Purdy were Audrey Patton, 11th with a time of 23:39; and Nicole Terry, 39th with a time of 30:15.

East Newton won the Class 1A-2A boys varsity race with 40 points.

Purdy, with four runners, did not have a team score. Running for Purdy were Josiah Jones, 28th with a time of 20:12; Scott Klein, 44th with a time of 21:19; Corey Kelley, 51st with a time of 21:44; and Devan Keeler, 72nd with a time of 22:47.

No team scores were kept in the Class 3A-4A 2.1-mile junior varsity races.

Running for the jayvee Monett boys were: Ryan Saunders, 44th with a time of 17:01; Luke Verhoff, 47th with a time of 17:05; Michael Morley, 57th with a time of 17:40; and Jacques De Plessis, 84th with a time of 18:40.

Competing for Cassville were: William Linenbrink, 11th with a time of 15:12; Gage Holloway, 16th with a time of 15:21; Taylor Dodson, 27th with a time of 16:06; Chris Hivebaugh, 39th with a time of 16:46; Lucas Galey, 46th with a time of 17:04; and H.D. Essley, 65th with a time of 17:51.

For the Monett junior varsity girls, Hannah Martin was second with a time of 17:53; Whitney Dahlstrom was 22nd with a time of 20:47; and Skyler Ginther\ was 45th with a time of 23:35.

The Monett teams will next run at Lamar on Sept. 29.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.