[Monett Times] Fair ~ 46°F  
High: 64°F ~ Low: 41°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Local officials to address state road commission

Wednesday, September 2, 2009

Representatives from the the Monett TIF District and the Highway 37/60 Corridor Coalition have the opportunity today to speak about local highway improvement needs to members of the Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission.

The September Commision meeting is being held today (Wednesday) at the Missouri Department of Transportation (MoDOT) Southwest District Office in Joplin. This is the first time in five years that the Highway Commission has met in Joplin.

Cherry Warren, Barry County presiding commissioner and chairman of the 37-60 Corridor Coalition, and Mark Nelson, senior executive vice president of Community National Bank in Monett and chairman of the Monett TIF District, were scheduled to speak from 10:30 to 10:45 a.m. this morning.

"It should be an interesting meeting," said Nelson. "The state highway commissioners are very engaged and ask good questions."

Warren said he expected the presentations to be short.

"We just want a chance to thank the Commission for the passing lanes from Cassville to Monett and the widening of 37 from Cassville to Seligman and for the work they are doing on adding passing lanes between Monett and Republic," Warren said.

Warren added that he would also be pressing the Highway Commission on the issue of completing an environmental study for the four-laning of Highway 37 between Monett and the Arkansas state line.

"We want to be prepared for the next round of available funding," said Warren.

Warren will not be the only Coalition representative at the Missouri Highway Commission meeting.

"There will be a petty good-sized contingent from communities all along the corridor," Warren said. "We want to make a good showing and let the Commission know we have wide support for improvements all along the corridor."

The Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission is a six-member bipartisan board that governs MoDOT. Commission members are appointed for a six-year term by the governor. Their meetings are open to the public.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.