[Monett Times] Mostly Cloudy ~ 73°F  
High: 84°F ~ Low: 64°F
Wednesday, May 25, 2016

Cubs-McDonald Co. Square Off In Football Opener

Thursday, August 27, 2009

The 2009 Monett Cubs football team is pictured above. Team members include Jarred Witt, Matt Hinkle, Marcus McCaffrey, Marcus Enloe, Jesse Bremer, Ryan Cody, Tyler Green, Cody Mahl, Aaron Patton, Nick Roberts, Kyle Woods, Kurran Blamey, Matt Murphy, Spenser Witt, Zach Swearingen, Ethan Davis, Chris Eimer, Carter Huffmaster, Reece Johnson, Christian Isbell, Aaron Hall, Brandon Marion, Asher George, Christian Privett, Zach Irwin, Tyler Bass, Matt Schiffner, Dustin Dahlstrom, Tristen Homfeldt, William Baez, Jimmy Rameriz, Travis Wormington, Seth Spencer, Kole Eden, Jacob Obermann, Devon Overall, Kyle Doss, Matt Obermann, Jeff Craft, Fernando Salas, Joey Albrecht, Robert Waibel, Forrest Fellwock, Joe Eiser, Jared Childress, Bobby Mobley, Jacob Childress, Grant Lay, Christian Romero, Jacob Murphy, Nic Childress, Matt Bricker, Jacob Kennedy, Reece Bounous, Clayton Locher, Jason Obermann, Ryne Johnson, Kyle Fellwock, Jackson Burnside, Beau Bounous, Levi Litchfield, Dakota Mobley, Carlin Ballay, Jerimiah Paszek, Brice Watson, Taylor Mayes, Antonia Mejia, Grant Oganesyan, Caleb Denny, Chandler Wammack and Zach Jensen. Coaches are Head Coach Alan Spencer and Assistant Coaches Michael Calhoun, Matt Holt, Josh Honey, Blair Powell, and Derrek Uhl. Be sure to watch for the first Monett Cubs football preview tab in tomorrow's edition of The Times. [Times Photo by Charles Brady]
 It will be a non-conference game when the Monett Cubs open the 2009 football season tomorrow against the McDonald County Mustangs at Anderson.

Monett is coming off an excellent season. Last year the Cubs logged an 11-1 record on the way to winning the Big 8 Conference and Class 3A District 12 titles.

Following a long absence, McDonald County was added to Monett's schedule in 2006 and the Cubs won, 27-0. Monett went to McDonald County in 2007 and won, 14-3. Last year the Cubs hosted the Mustangs and breezed to a 61-0 victory.

Prior to 2006 the last time Monett faced the Mustangs was in 1999, and the Cubs lost 27-13. In 1998 the Cubs won, 34-18.

On offense the Cubs will most likely start the following: Matt Hinkle, Ryan Cody and Spenser Witt, wide receivers; Chris Eimer, slot back; Jacob Murphy and Beau Bounous, tackles; Jeff Craft, center; Jason Obermann and Ryne Johnson, guards; Tyler Green, quarterback; and Christian Privett, running back.

Defensively the Cubs will probably start the following: Jason Obermann and Beau Bounous, ends; Kyle Fellwock, nose guard; Cody Mahl, Tristen Homfeldt, Jacob Childress and Matt Schiffner, linebackers; Spenser Witt and Chris Eimer, cornerbacks; and Marcus Enloe and Brandon Marion, safeties.

Kick-off is scheduled for 7 p.m.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.