[Monett Times] Fog ~ 45°F  
High: 65°F ~ Low: 43°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Purdy Junior Livestock Show gives youth a chance to shine

Monday, July 20, 2009

The Purdy FFA Alumni organization held its annual livestock show on July 11 at the Purdy FFA livestock facility at the school. The one-day event had shows for hogs and sheep in the morning, dairy cattle in the afternoon and wrapped up with the beef show in the evening.

"With the economy being this tough, it is nice to see that so many parents and kids still see this as a valuable way to spend their summer," said Jerry Thomas, Purdy FFA Alumni vice president.

Winners in the various categories are listed below.


Class 2 senior ewes: Taner Wright and Kory Harvey.

Class 5 rams over 1: Taner Wright, Kory Harvey and Makayla Harvey.

Dairy cattle

Showmanship: Kylin Wagner, peewee; Seth Woods, junior; and Jessica Schmidt, senior.

Supreme Champion dairy cow: Stephanie Kaiser.

Grand Champion Ayshire: Seth Woods.

Grand Champion Guernsey: Stephanie Kaiser.

Reserve Champion Guernsey: Stephanie Kaiser.

Junior Champion Holstein: Jessica Schmidt.

Junior Reserve Champion Holstein: Lilly Schmidt.

Grand Champion Holstein: Faith Schmidt.


Junior Showmanship: Mikayla Fletcher.

Senior Showmanship: Tyler Fletcher.

Grand Champion Crossbred Gilt: Asa Dill.

Grand Champion Duroc Gilt: Asa Dill.

Reserve Grand Champion Duroc Gilt: Asa Dill.

Grand Champion Market Hog under 220 pounds: Asa Dill.

Reserve Grand Champion market hog under 220 pounsa: Tyler Fletcher.

Grand Champion market hog over 220 pounds: Tyler Fletcher.

Reserve Grand Champion market hog over 220 pounds: Gerald Bradley.

Beef Cattle

Showmanship: Callie Keaton, peewee; Rebekah Callison, junior; and Taylor Long, senior.

Supreme Champion heifer: Lyndon Clopton-Limousin.

Supreme Champion bull: Tyler Scott-Brangus.

Grand Champion Angus heifer: Callie Keaton.

Reserve Grand Champion Angus heifer: Jared Smith.

Grand Champion Angus bull: Cotton Reed.

Grand Champion Beefmaster heifer: Courtney Keaton.

Grand Champion Brangus heifer: Tyler Scott.

Reserve Grand Champion Brangus heifer: Brittany Mareth.

Grand Champion Brangus bull: Brittany Mareth.

Reserve Grand Champion Brangus bull: Tyler Scott

Grand Champion Chariolais heifer: Megan Thomas.

Reserve Grand Champion Chariolais heifer: Rebekah Callison.

Grand Champion Limousin heifer: Lyndon Clopton.

Reserve Grand Champion Limousin heifer: Haley Long.

Grand Champion Limousin bull: Lyndon Clopton.

Reserve Grand Champion Limousin bull: Taylor Long.

Grand Champion Red Angus heifer: Camille Crune.

Grand Champion Shorthorn heifer: James Ray.

Reserve Grand Champion Shorthorn heifer: Olivia Spencer.

Grand Champion Shorthorn Bull: James Ray

Grand Champion Simmental heifer: Rebekah Callison.

Reserve Grand Champion Simmental heifer: Chelsea Mareth.

Grand Champion Simmental bull: Camille Crune.

Grand Champion Simmental cow/calf pair: Rebekah Callison.

Grand Champion steer: Callie Keaton

Reserve Grand Champion steer: Kaleb Kalbaugh.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.