[Monett Times] Fair ~ 46°F  
High: 78°F ~ Low: 55°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Library Board Re-Elects Officers, Adopts Budget

Monday, July 13, 2009

Re-election of officers and adoption of the annual budget highlighted the July meeting of the Barry-Lawrence Regional Library Board of Trustees.

Ann Hall was re-elected president of the board for 2009-10. Other officers re-elected by acclamation were: Charles Peiter, vice president; and Felicity Nesbitt, secretary-treasurer.

Library Director Jean Berg reviewed the proposed budget figures for income projections and expenditures.

Tax assessments from Barry and Lawrence counties were reviewed. It was indicated that the tax computation formula for projecting 2009-10 income was based on the assessment figures provided by the county clerks before the Board of Equalization meets. Assessments being lower, the formula resulted in a .20 cent maximum tax levy allowed. This will result in less tax income for the district than the previous .17 cent levy. Proposed revenue, including taxes, state monies, fines and fees, was projected at $1,657,249.

Berg presented changes for two employee positions in relation to base salaries. The board approved increasing the part-time shelver's base salary from $7.05 per hour to $7.25 per hour to meet federal minimum wage requirements and increasing the part-time custodial and van delivery driver's base salary from $7.25 to $7.75 per hour.

The proposed budget for capital improvements/maintenance and repairs for the 10 branches was reviewed. Board members discussed possible salary increases and expressed concern relative to the unanswered questions regarding the tax levy. There was a realization that these questions will not be resolved until after House Bill 148 is signed by the governor, and the state auditor has reviewed county tax assessments and confirmed the maximum levy for the library district. It was determined that salaries would remain at the current level and be reviewed again in August.

The board voted to approve the 2009-10 budget at $1,506,081. In addition, the board voted to balance the 2008-09 budget figures.

In other business, the board learned of the resignation of Elaine Phaneuf as library clerk at the Eagle Rock Branch. Jennifer Cochran has been hired as her replacement.

The public tax levy hearing date was set for Friday, Aug. 28 at 9 a.m.

Berg reported that $2,032.71 was realized from the book sale held to benefit the Monett Building Fund.

It was noted that Travis James, owner of property located across the street from the Cassville Branch, has offered it for sale to the library district. The asking price is $25,000. Trustees did not anticipate any further need for parking or expansion at the Cassville Branch and declined the offer.

Kent Wilbourn Construction's bid in the amount of $18,546.25 for replacement of the carpet at the Aurora Branch was accepted.

It was announced that Lester Richesin, in Lawrence County, and Felicity Nesbitt, in Barry County, were re-appointed to the board by the respective county commissions to serve through June 30, 2013.

The board voted to continue meeting the second Thursday of each month at 9 a.m. The next meeting will be Aug. 13.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.