[Monett Times] Overcast ~ 75°F  
High: 82°F ~ Low: 63°F
Thursday, May 26, 2016

Eight Cubs Receive All-Conference Honors In Baseball

Tuesday, June 9, 2009

Eight members of the Monett Cubs baseball team have received Big 8 Conference accolades by being named to all-conference teams.

Named to the first team from Monett were senior pitcher Kyle Coatney, senior third baseman Kirk Moore and junior outfielder Spenser Witt.

Selected to the second team from the Cubs was senior outfielder Michael Roberts.

Honorable mention selections from Monett were senior catcher Preston Thompson, sophomore first baseman Jake Smith, sophomore shortstop Colten Phillips and senior outfielder Kellen Bounous.

Player of the Year award went to senior utility player Aaron Jamieson, of Cassville.

Coach of the Year honor went to Rod Hemphill, of Cassville.

Other first team honorees were: senior pitcher Jake Hale, of Carl Junction; junior pitcher Travis Northern, of Cassville; senior pitcher Wilson Cowherd, of Mt. Vernon; senior catcher Travis Green, of Carl Junction; senior first baseman Seth Spenser, of Carl Junction; sophomore second baseman Jack Luton, of Carl Junction; senior shortstop Aaron Brooks, of Cassville; junior outfielder Shayne Henbest, of Aurora; senior outfielder Cody Pierson, of Cassville; senior utility player Aaron Jamieson, of Cassville; and senior designated hitter Jake Nolan, of Cassville.

Other second team selection were: junior pitcher Ross Means, of Lamar; junior pitcher Jake Stevenson, of Carl Junction; senior catcher Clayton Miller, of East Newton; senior catcher Stephen Swillum, of Mt. Vernon; senior first baseman Wilson Cowherd, of Mt. Vernon; sophomore second baseman Ryan Johnson, of Aurora; senior third baseman Jonathan Centola, of Mt. Vernon; senior shortstop Jake Hale, of Carl Junction; freshman outfielder Payton Walker, of Carl Junction; junior outfielder Matt Thompson, of Carl Junction; sophomore utility player Mason Whitman, of East Newton; and junior designated hitter Pryce Nutting, of Seneca.

Honorable mention honorees were: senior pitcher Kaleb Roy, of Aurora; junior pitcher Josh Engler, of Mt. Vernon; junior first baseman Dustin Hedrick, of Aurora; senior second baseman Tyler Fenton, of Mt. Vernon; sophomore third baseman Garrett Carden, of Carl Junction; sophomore outfielder Robert Mikell, of Mt. Vernon; junior outfielder Taylor Hunt, of East Newton; junior utility player Steven Hohulin, of Lamar; and sophomore designated hitter Logan Deem, of Carl Junction.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.