[Monett Times] Overcast ~ 75°F  
High: 82°F ~ Low: 63°F
Thursday, May 26, 2016

Voters pick winners for Health Department, road district

Wednesday, April 8, 2009

Voters had a wide range of races for administering boards and road district commissions to determine in the Tuesday election

Barry County Health Dept.

There will be a change on the Barry County Health Department Board of Directors. Board chairman

John Starchman won re-election with 1,404 votes, followed by incumbent Jan Thomas with 833. Linda (Bass) McBride got 785 votes to beat out incumbent Pauline Gage of Monett, who had 753 votes.

Road Districts

Rural Monett voters in Barry County returned longtime Monett Special Road District commissioner Bill Medlin, who had previously retired, back into office. Medlin defeated fellow multi-term incumbent James Arnaud by a vote of 178-57.

In the Purdy Special Road District, Gary Rickman defeated Junior Wolf 130-25.

In the Crane Creek Road District, Gary Moreland got 37 votes to top Earl Harris with 24.

A close race in the Exeter Special Road District had Darrell Bacon earning 79 votes to beat one-term incumbent John Marney with 76.

In the McDonald Special Road District, north of Cassville, two-term incumbent Bill Wolf beat Edgar Schreiner II by a vote of 30-6.

In the Mineral Special Road District, Cary Cheek got 59 votes to beat incumbent Rex Crumpler with 23.

In the Ozark Special Road District, east of Pleasant Ridge, Robert Miller's 43 votes were enough to edge Jeff Kelm with 42 and Richard Williamson with 16 for the commissioner's job.

In the Sugar Creek Road District, Connie Lloyd garnered 81 votes to beat Alvin Stanley with 56.

In the White River Road District, Larry Mann received 127 votes to win over Don Saffold with 61.

Two Lawrence County road districts had contested races. In the Mt. Pleasant Benefit Special Road District, west of Pierce City, Don Kleiboeker had 50 votes to win over Roger Moennig with 33.

In the Green Benefit Special Road District, west of Miller, Shawn Duncan carried the day with 42 votes over Rodney Riley with 12 and Robert Calvin with 11.

Ambulance District

Two seats on the Mt. Vernon Ambulance District were open to write-in voting. In District 2, Mike Albright and Betty Ferguson each received one vote each. In District 5, Derrick Barnes is the apparent winner with two votes. Seven other individuals received one vote each.

Other Races

In the Seligman Fire District, Wendell Bishop got 96 votes and Ron Roller received 94 to win the two open seats in a five-way race.

In the North Stone County/Northeast Barry County Fire District, winning the two six-year terms were John Mackey with 93 votes and Leon Cunningham with 77. Trailing were Jerry Brown with 76 and Carl C. Moore with 52.

For the four-year term in the North Stone County/Northeast Barry County Fire District, David Ellsworth received 117 votes to win over Chris Christofferson with 58.

Two positions were left without candidates on the Lawrence County Nursing Home Board of Directors, opening the election to write-ins. For District 1, Max Springer was the apparent winner with three votes. Twenty other persons received votes.

For District 6, five candidates got multiple votes. Sandy Brown was the apparent winner with six votes, two over runner-up Jerry Lee West. Single votes were cast for 27 individuals.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.