[Monett Times] Partly Cloudy ~ 63°F  
High: 79°F ~ Low: 60°F
Tuesday, May 31, 2016

Incumbents returned to office in Monett School District

Wednesday, April 8, 2009

While waiting for voting results to be announced, Monett R-1 School Superintendent Dr. John Jungmann and School Board President Dave Beckett at left looked over vote projections in yesterday's election. Election judges for the first time brought their ballots to the second floor of the historic courthouse in Mt. Vernon for tabulation by County Clerk Gary Emerson in the office formerly occupied by the circuit court clerk. [Times Photo by Murray Bishoff]

Barry County

Monett R-1: Incumbents easily carried the day in the Monett school district. Jerry D. Roberts got a second term by repeating as the top vote getter with 384 (207 Barry County, 177 Lawrence). Fellow first-term incumbent Mark Coatney had 350 votes (181 Barry, 169 Lawrence) to take the other seat.

Trailing in his first election bid was Douglas Childress with 281 (131 Barry, 150 Lawrence). First-time candidate Richard Morris had 50 votes (23 Barry, 27 Lawrence).

Cassville R-4: Patrons elected one incumbent and one new candidate to three-year terms on the school board. Incumbent John Sullivan received the most votes with 660. He was followed by new candidate Carolyn Bowen, who received 583 votes.

The board's other incumbent, David Haddock, received 506 votes,

which was not enough to win him another term on the board.

Southwest R-5: Patrons supported incumbents Daniel Dalton and Robert Catron over challengers Dustin Mabry and Arlus "Wayne" Walden.

Catron received the most votes with 195 (185 Barry, 10 McDonald). He was closely followed by Dalton, who received 190 (179 Barry, 11 McDonald). Mabry earned 117 votes (111 Barry, 6 McDonald), and Walden tallied 99 votes (97 Barry, 2 McDonald).

Shell Knob No. 78: Shell Knob voters also awarded its incumbent candidates three more years on the board. Lisa Fielder won 152 votes, and Bob Stewart earned 107 votes on Tuesday. Challenger Susan B. Beck received 94 votes, which was not enough to secure a seat on the board.

Lawrence County

Pierce City R-6: Fallout from the failed bond issues reverberated through the school board race. Voters awarded first-time candidate Mike Zebert the top spot with 391 votes (293 Lawrence, 33 Barry, 65 Newton). Two-term incumbent Fred Slagle won re-election with 378 votes (311 Lawrence, 31 Barry, 36 Newton).

One-term incumbent Kevin Hatfield, chairman of the committee to pass the bond issues, finished out of the running with 348 votes (238 Lawrence, 42 Barry, 68 Newton). Two-term incumbent Kenny O'Hara followed with 346 (243 Lawrence, 45 Barry, 58 Newton). Three-time candidate Hollis Webb had 178 (150 Lawrence, 9 Barry, 19 Newton).

Mt. Vernon R-5: Five-term incumbent John Rutledge took the top spot with 396 votes. It appears that official write-in candidate Danny Bowling received 270 of the 282 write-in votes to take the second position. Fellow first-time candidate Katherine Teel was out of the running with 184 votes. Only one other write-in vote was cast.

Miller R-2: The winners for the two open slots received almost the identical number of votes. First-time candidate Jeff Hadlock led the field with 255 votes. Also winning was two-term incumbent Cindy Gulick with 253. Out of the running was three-time candidate Todd Cook with 162.

Aurora R-8: The second time was the charm for Michele Parbury. In her second consecutive run at the Aurora School Board, Parbury led the field with 760 votes (703 Lawrence, 57 Barry). Four-term incumbent Roger Dummit claimed the second spot with 691 votes (622 Lawrence, 69 Barry).

Out of the running was first-time candidates Matt Lauffer with 530 (487 Lawrence, 43 Barry) and Steve Bryan with 418 (402 Lawrence, 16 Barry).

Marionville R-9: Four-time candidate Brandon White outdistanced his opponents to win election with 193 votes. One-term incumbent Brad Smith took the other open slot with 148 votes.

Trailing were Travis Edwards with 124, Bryant Smith with 104, and Matthew Schmidt with 67. Again this year, all votes came from Lawrence County patrons, as none of the Christian County patrons voted.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.