[Monett Times] Overcast ~ 52°F  
High: 62°F ~ Low: 45°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

Leaders for health board, road districts, ambulance districts to be elected Tuesday

Friday, April 3, 2009

3-30 Assorted races 4/1


A number of races for ambulance and road district commissioners as well as fire districts and nursing home boards will be on the ballot around the bi-county area on Tuesday.

Barry Co. Health Dept.

The only countywide race in Barry County is for three open seats on the Barry County Health Department board. Seven candidates are running for three vacancies, filling four-year terms.

All three incumbents are seeking re-election: current board chairman John Starchman, Pauline Gage and Jan Thomas. Also running are Ronald Staab, Mary Anne Butler, Paul Bingham and Linda McBride.

Road Districts

Only two road districts in Lawrence County will have elections for commissioners.

The Mt. Pleasant Benefit Special Road District, west of Pierce City, has a race for one seat between Don Kleiboeker and Roger Moennig.

The Green Benefit Special Road District, west of Miller, has a three-way race for one seat. Running are Rodney Riley, who lost his bid for election last year, along with Robert Calvin and Shawn Duncan.

The following road districts have no races. The candidate listed was the only person to file: Freistatt, Herman Lehde Jr.; Midway, Alan Scrivner; Miller, David Rose; Mt. Vernon, David Smothers; Verona, Ray Erwin; Red Oak, Steve Wood; Buck Prairie, Terry Hickman; Aurora, Robert Jung; Pierce, Mike O'Hara; and Vineyard, John Jones.

In Barry County, the Monett Special Road District has a race between two veteran commissioners for the single open seat. James Arnaud and Bill Medlin are the candidates.

In the Purdy Special Road District, Gary Rickman is running against Junior Wolf, who lost his election bid last year.

In the Crane Creek Special Road District, Earl Harris is running against Gary Moreland.

In the Exeter Special Road District, one-term incumbent John Marney, who won as a write-in candidate in 2006, is running against Darrell Bacon, who got one vote in 2006.

In the McDonald Special Road District, north of Cassville, two-term incumbent Bill Wolf is running against Edgar Schreiner II.

In the Mineral Special Road District, incumbent Rex Crumpler is running against Cary Cheek.

In the Ozark Special Road District, east of Pleasant Ridge, the three candidates vying for one open seat are Richard Williamson, Robert Miller and Jeff Kelm.

In the Sugar Creek Special Road District, Connie Lloyd and Alvin Stanley are seeking one seat.

In the White River Special Road District, Larry Mann is running against Don Saffold for the open seat.

No one filed for the Jenkins Special Road District commissioner's seat, leaving selection open to a write-in vote.

Barry County road districts with no races follow, along with the name of the sole candidate who filed: Ash, Gary Hendrix; Butterfield, Andy Holman; Capps Creek, Robert Presley; Corsicana, Emmanuel Berry; Flat Creek, Carroll Craig Sr.; Greasy Creek, Rodney Morgan; Kings Prairie, Ron Campbell; Mountain, Mike Collins; Pioneer, Robert Golubski; Pleasant Ridge, Robert McKee; Roaring River, Ed Gibson; Shell Knob, Raymond Milroy; Viola, Gary Ashford; Washburn, Jeff Cockrum; and Wheaton, C.L. England.

Ambulance Districts

There is no race for the Barry-Lawrence Ambulance District. Filing for the open three-year seats were Rick Vanderpool for District One and Marty Newman for District Four. Howard Kuhnert filed to fill the remaining two years on his seat representing District Six. Mike Bennett filed to fill the one-year term left for the seat from District Two. All the candidates are current or previous incumbents.

No candidates filed for the open seats on the Mt. Vernon Ambulance District. Vacancies exist for Districts Two and Five.

No election is needed for the South Barry County Ambulance District. Filing for the three-year terms were Gary Luppen for District One and Ken Cieslinski for District Four.

Fire Districts

Two Barry County fire districts have a field of candidates on the ballot. Fire district board terms run for six years.

Running for the two open seats on the North Stone County/Northeast Barry County Fire Protection District board are Leon Cunningham, Jerry Brown, Carl C. Moore and John Mackey. There is also a four-year seat open, where David Ellsworth and Chris Christofferson are the candidates.

Running for the two open seats on the Seligman Fire Protection District are Charles Freeman, Wendell Bishop, Don Roller, Gerald Harling, and Kennetha Scates.

No election is needed in three fire districts. In Purdy, the only candidates were David Redshaw and Steve Terry. In the Cassville Fire District, the only candidates are Gary Whyte and Richard Linebarger. In the Exeter District, Earl Adams and Ron Shockley were the only candidates.

Other races

No candidates filed for the two vacancies on the Lawrence County Nursing Home District board. Vacancies are open for Districts One and Six.

The South Barry County Hospital Board has two vacancies to be filled. Two candidates, Lindy Lombard and Shirlee Hicks, are seeking the three-year seat. Bill Shiveley is running unopposed for the six-year seat.

No election is needed for the board of the Southwest Rural Water District. The only candidates to file for the three-year seats are Marty Hall in District Two and Steve Knight in District Three.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.