[Monett Times] Fair ~ 68°F  
High: 78°F ~ Low: 59°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Bi-county area sees several races for area school boards

Friday, April 3, 2009

All but five school districts in the bi-county area will have elections on Tuesday to fill school board seats. No district mustered more than five candidates to pursue two open board seats.

Barry County schools

Monett R-1: Four people are running for two open seats on the Monett R-1 school board. One-term incumbents Jerry D. Roberts and Mark Coatney are in a field against first-time candidates Richard Morris and Doug Childress.

Purdy R-2: There will be a change but no election in the Purdy R-2 school district. With six-term incumbent Curtis Schallert not running, the only two candidates who filed were two-term incumbent and current board president Randy Henderson and Ken Terry, who ran in 2005 and 2007.

Cassville R-4: There are three candidates running for two seats on the Cassville school board. Two-term incumbents John Sullivan and David Haddock will be challenged by first-time candidate Carolyn Bowen.

Southwest R-5: Four candidates are seeking the two open seats on the Southwest school board. Two-term incumbents Danny Dalton and Robert Catron are facing a challenge from six-time candidate Arlus "Wayne" Walden, who last ran in 2006, and first-time candidate Dustin Mabry.

Wheaton R-3: Two-term incumbents Doug Goostree and Bobby Banks were the only candidates to file. Consequently there will be no vote in Wheaton this year.

Exeter R-6: No election will be held for the Exeter school board. Three-term incumbent Sammy Hudson and one-term incumbent Natalie Moseley were the only candidates to file.

Shell Knob No. 78: Three are running for the two open seats on the school board. Seven-term incumbent Bob Stewart is running against Susan Beck and incumbent Lisa Fielder, who has been on the board since 2005.

Lawrence County schools

Pierce City R-6: Five candidates are seeking two seats on the Pierce City school board. Two-term incumbents Kenny O'Hara and Fred Slagle are in a field with one-term incumbent Kevin Hatfield, two-time candidate Hollis Webb and first-time candidate Mike Zebert.

Mt. Vernon R-5: There are three candidates in the race for two open seats. Five-term incumbent John Rutledge is the only incumbent, following the death of fellow incumbent Paul Morris. First-time candidates Katherine Teel and Danny Bowling, who filed as an official write-in candidate, are in the race.

Miller R-2: Three candidates are seeking two school board seats in Miller. Two-term incumbent Cindy Gulick is facing Todd Cook, who ran unsuccessfully from 2002 to 2006, and first-time candidate Jeff Hadlock.

Aurora R-8: Four candidates are seeking two seats on the Aurora school board. Four-term incumbent Roger Dummit is leading a field that includes Michele Parbury, who ran last year, and first-time candidates Steve Bryan and Matt Lauffer.

Marionville R-9: Five are seeking the two open seats on the Marionville school board. One-term incumbent Brad Smith leads a field with four-time candidate Brandon White and first-time candidates Travis Edwards, Matthew Schmidt and Bryant Smith.

Verona R-7: There is no election in Verona. The only candidates to file were seven-term incumbent Donnie Craft and two-term incumbent Gary Wolf.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.